The European Commission has announced the 12 members of the new High Level Group that will formulate a vision for future EU research and innovation and make recommendations on maximising the impact of EU investments in this area. The group is chaired by Pascal Lamy, President Emeritus of the Jacques Delors Institute.

Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, said: “We face economic uncertainty and societal challenges but also promising opportunities in Europe. So it is vital to get even greater impact from EU funding for research and innovation, for everyone’s benefit. With a wide range of expertise and experience, I am confident that the new High Level Group will provide us with a bold vision for EU research and innovation in the future.

Pascal Lamy, former Director-General of the World Trade Organisation and former European Commissioner for Trade, said: “I am honoured to lead the Group’s work on maximising the impact of EU investments in research and innovation. I believe that these are crucial for our future prosperity and to solving our biggest challenges, and areas where the EU can demonstrate that we do better together than on our own and that we can exert global leadership.

The High Level Group on Maximising the Impact of EU Research and Innovation Programmes brings together leading personalities from across Europe with a wide range of expertise. The members hold key posts in universities or research organisations, are leaders of industrial giants and dynamic SMEs, serve in high-level policy positions in national or international organisations, and play important roles in civil society organisations.

The members of the High Level Group

  • Chair: Pascal Lamy – President Emeritus, Jacques Delors Institute
  • Martin Brudermüller – Vice Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors and Chief Technology Officer, BASF SE
  • Mark Ferguson – Director General, Science Foundation Ireland and Chief Scientific Adviser to the Government of Ireland
  • Lykke Friis – Prorector for Education, University of Copenhagen
  • Cristina Garmendia – Chair, Fundación Cotec
  • Iain Gray – Director of Aerospace, Cranfield University
  • Jan Gulliksen – Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
  • Harri Kulmala – CEO of DIMECC Ltd, Tampere
  • Nevenka Maher – former dean, Faculty of Business & Management Sciences Novo mesto
  • Maya Plentz Fagundes – Managing Director, 50More Ventures
  • Lucyna A. Woźniak – Vice-Rector for Science and International Relations, Medical University of Łódź
  • Milena Žic Fuchs – Professor, University of Zagreb and Fellow, Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts


The Group comprises 12 highly qualified, independent members appointed in their personal capacity. They were selected from over 350 candidates who responded to a public call for expression of interest, with the aim of ensuring high-level professional experience and a good balance in terms of skills, experience, knowledge, geographical diversity, gender and age.

The High Level Group will start its work in December 2016. It will base its work on the results of the interim evaluation of Horizon 2020, the EU’s current research and innovation funding scheme, and other evidence such as the results of the related public consultation, which is open until 15 January 2017.

The Group’s final report will be published in June 2017, followed by a stakeholder conference on 30 June 2017 in Brussels. The Group’s recommendations will be taken forward by the European Commission in the future development of EU research and innovation funding.

More information

Media contact